The task

Photo: 2015 Overall Winning Entry ‘The Palette of Nora Heysen’ by Ineka Voigt

Photo: 2015 Overall Winning Entry ‘The Palette of Nora Heysen’ by Ineka Voigt

In 2017, we want you to research and create an entry that considers – does democracy make for a better world?

Research an individual or a community; an artist or a writer; an idea or an event; a discovery or an invention; a historical document, artwork or musical piece that has contributed to democracy here in Australia or the world.

Entries can include local, national and global political leaders, activists, political parties, or governments who have influenced the development of democracy.

Entries can be presented in the following formats:

  • Research essay (individual, Years F-12)
  • Museum Exhibit (individual or group, Years F-12)
  • Other formats (individual or group, Years F-12)
    • Performance
    • Multi-media
    • Website
    • Other

Read the 2016 winning entry for MoAD’s special category by Sarah Tang

You must use at least one primary source such as a speech, historic document, newspaper or interview to support your entry. Remember, the National History Challenge rules say that you need to use a variety of primary and secondary sources. All entries must relate to the theme, meet the criteria for the entry format and include a bibliography of the investigation. We encourage you to make use of our website as a starting point for your research.

Full competition information including word length, presentation requirements, referencing and registration is available from the National History Challenge website.

Registrations open after 31 January 2017.

Check out our hints and tips sheet to get you started.

The National History Challenge is a research-based competition for students. More information is available on the National History Challenge site.

Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House

18 King George Terrace
Parkes ACT 2600

Open daily 9 am – 5 pm (closed Christmas Day)


Emma Diamond
Learning Officer

Phone:02 6270 8114

Research Library
Australian Prime Ministers Centre