Junior and senior winners in each State and Territory will receive a cash prize of $100. Each winner’s school also receives a $100 prize.

The national junior and senior winners (selected from State and Territory winners) each receive $500 and a trip to the awards ceremony in Canberra. Old Parliament House pays expenses for the trip (not redeemable for cash).

The national winner’s school also receives $100.

The facts speak only when the historian calls on them: it is he who decides to which facts to give the floor, and in what order or context.

-E H Carr

The Museum of Australian Democracy’s Australian Prime Ministers Centre sponsored this category in the 2007 National History Challenge. Find out more about the latest National History Challenge.

The National History Challenge is a research-based competition for students. More information is available on the National History Challenge site.