Prizes will be awarded in two age groups for State, Territory and National:

  • Junior: years 5-8
  • Senior: years 9-12

Junior and senior winners in each State and Territory will receive a cash prize of $200.

The national junior and senior winners (selected from State and Territory winners) each receive $300 and a trip to the awards ceremony in Canberra. The Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House will cover expenses for the trip (not redeemable for cash).

The national winner’s school also receives $100.

The Museum of Australian Democracy’s Australian Prime Ministers Centre sponsored this category in the 2009 National History Challenge. Find out more about the latest National History Challenge.

The National History Challenge is a research-based competition for students. More information is available on the National History Challenge site.